Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


Mick Gavins has been appointed technical director at Systems Geotechnique, to be based in St Helens.

Rob Jensen has joined Rock and Alluvium as regional manager in the north of England.

Gavin Thompson is the new managing director of Buro Happold, taking over from Padraic Kelly, who becomes international director.

Andrew Grafton, Jonathan Clark and Jason Hodgkiss have become directors of Stats. George Tuckwell is associate director.

David Preece has joined Pennine as senior engineer. He was formerly at Arup.

John Theos has joined Keller Ground Engineering from Corus Hydrobarrier. He is director and general manager of the Geotechnical Division in Wetherby.

Victor Milligan is to be elected as an honorary fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers in recognition of his contribution to geotechnical engineering. He was a founder of Golder Associates and continues to act as consultant to the firm. In a former life, he ran in the 'Miracle mile' race at the 1954 British Empire Games in Vancouver, coming fourth behind Roger Bannister and John Landey.

Faber Maunsell has appointed Dick Thomas as coastal management director.

Clyde Baker Jr and Edward Cruz will receive the Moles outstanding achievement in construction awards in New York this month.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Please note comments made online may also be published in the print edition of New Civil Engineer. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.